top of page

Sleek Solstice Highlight Pallet Review


In Canada it's really difficult to find a highly pigmented, good quality highlighter at the drug store instead of Sephora. There are so many great options for affordable highlighters at American drugstores that Beauty Youtuber's gush over, but when you're in Canada, getting those highlighters online with the American and Canadian dollar means you may as well go to Sephora in the first place. I came across this pallet from UK drugstores on Youtube and started to search for it online. I finally found it on Amazon for only $16.99 CAD with free shipping and I couldn't wait for it to show up! The pallet showed up in the mail all the way from the UK in only a week and a half and was in perfect condition when it arrived in my mailbox.

The back of the package has a little descriptor of each colour in the pallet and places where you can use it on the face. The description says that this pallet is perfect for the use on all skin tones and contains two baked powders, one cream and one silky shimmer powder.

EQUINOX This is by far my favourite shade out of the pallet. In my opinion it is definitely the most pigmented and goes well with the skin, because of its champagne/peach colour. It has a warm undertones and is very metallic. To get a strong highlight anywhere on the face you only need a very small amount of product, so it's important to be careful when going in with your brush or finger. This colour also works great as a way to brighten up an eye look using it on the centre of the lid or of course, in the inner corner. I didn't find that this shade did much to emphasize the pores on my cheeks like a lot of shimmery products do, and it lasted an entire work day on my skin with no problem at all! It is a tiny bit powdery as it does contain talc as the second ingredient, but it appears very creamy once applied with either a finger or a brush.

SUBSOLAR This colour is a light yellow highlighter with a pearly sheen. It's no where near a gold highlight, and it is fairly powdery in the pan while not being as pigmented as the other colours in the pallet. However, I'm not super into this colour. While it's still pigmented, it is not nearly as blinding as Equinox. It also appears quite yellow on the skin as it does in the pan, meaning that if your skin tone doesn't match this, it looks pretty strange. It is however a good way to brighten up an eye look. The highlighter did stay on my skin all day like the others and didn't emphasize any of the texture on my face. Over all, it is my least favourite colour in the pallet but I'm sure it would great for some people!

HEMISPHERE I was super excited about this shade! Iv'e never worn a lavender highlight before and this one was so perfect. It didn't show up as a lavender steak on my cheek, but it blended in great to my foundation and was just as metallic as Equinox, but not overly purple. It is definitely a great way to change up your makeup look especially if you're wearing an outfit that it can match with. Just like Equinox it lasted all day, was very nice on the skin, not highlighting texture, and went on well on top of foundation.

ECLIPTIC This was the only cream based highlighter in the pallet and as someone who's skin does NOT work with cream products at all, I have only used this on a few occasions. I've never tried it on its own, but I have used it as a base where I layered Equinox over top and it really increases the metallic nature of the product. It is a little bit thick so it's sort of difficult to blend out on top of foundation, but it definitely lasts all day. It works great as a brow highlight since it almost helps to shape you're brow like a concealer would since it's a cream. I think that for someone with skin thats better suited to cream products, this would deffinetly be a win.

Over all, I would consider this to be one of the best products I've ever used and would recommend it to anyone who is looking to achieve a highlight that is strong and buildable if you want it to be even more blinding. I will deffinetly be buying a new one once this runs out!

Jess Moffitt 

I am a 20 something Canadian Public Relations and Communications student who has a passion for the creative and pretty things in life! Join me as I share my ideas and tips as a budding crafter and career woman in Studio Blue! 

  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
CURRENTLY CRAVING
bottom of page